Simon van der Meer Award

(sponsored by the European Network for Novel Accelerators through the EU project ARIES)

The Simon van der Meer Award has been established in 2019 to recognize outstanding early career contributions (theoretical, experimental, computational or technical) in novel accelerator science. It is sponsored by the European Network for Novel Accelerators (EuroNNAc) which is part of the EU project ARIES (NPACT via I.FAST from 1/05/2021). EuroNNAc is coordinated by DESY, CERN, Ecole Polytechnique, University of Oxford, INFN Frascati and CEA. The Simon van der Meer Award is awarded every two years at the European Advanced Accelerator Concepts workshop (EAAC).

Eligible candidates must be within 12 years of the completion of their first university degree or equivalent, excluding career breaks (e.g. maternity or paternity leave, adoption). There is no restriction as to nationality. The research recognized could be either a single piece of work, or the sum of contributions.

The award recognizes one individual researcher and consists of a stipend of € 3.000 and a certificate citing the contributions of the recipient. During the award ceremony there will be a short laudatio to the selected candidate followed by a presentation given by the laureate.


The information for the Nomination 2021 will be available soon.

Past laureates


In 2019 at the EAAC Workshop, the Simon van der Meer Early Career Award in Novel Accelerators was awarded to Spencer Gessner for his leading contributions to the AWAKE experiment as the Run Coordinator and for driving the overall physics programme. He is also a world-leading expert on accelerating positrons in plasma wakefields.

We congratulate our colleague for this award. Click on the link for the award ceremony photos.

Icon 2019 (576KB)