## 2019

In 2019 at the EAAC Workshop, the Simon van der Meer Early Career Award in Novel Accelerators was awarded to **Spencer Gessner** for his leading contributions to the AWAKE experiment as the Run Coordinator and for driving the overall physics programme. He is also a world-leading expert on accelerating positrons in plasma wakefields.

## The Selection Committee:

Felicie Albert (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory), Reinhard Brinkmann (DESY), Allen Caldwell (MPI for Physics, Munich), Brigitte Cros (CNRS, Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris Saclay), Bernhard Holzer (CERN), Zulfikar Najmudin (Imperial College London) and Roman Walczak (Oxford University) in chair.